Show phone number

Alison Birks, MS, AHG, CNS, CDN

Certified Nutrition Specialist & Registered Herbalist

Eating well means choosing the right nutrient dense foods the earth has to offer.

Woodbury, CT
Show phone number

Recent Reviews

0 of 5 (0)

Alison Birks has no reviews yet! Be the first to leave a review!


Book a Service

Initial consultation
Free initial consultation.
15 Minutes   •   FREE

Endorsements

Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD)
Joint Disease
Elimination Diet

Practice Locations & Hours


Woodbury
129 Main St N, FL 2, Woodbury CT 06798, United States
Tue: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wed: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Fri: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Practice Details

Insurance accepted
American Specialty Health
Blue Cross Blue Shield

Learn More About Alison Birks, MS, AHG, CNS, CDN

About me

Alison Birks, MS, AHG, CNS,CDN is one of Connecticut’s most highly recognized Nutritionists and experts in Herbal Medicine. Her breadth of knowledge has ushered in her success as a Holistic Health Counselor, Nutritionist and Clinical Herbalist. She has been in practice since 1997. She has studied and used herbs as medicine since age 13, when she received a calling from Spirit. She recently completed three years of additional training with David Winston.

Alison received a Master’s of Science in Human Nutrition from University of Bridgeport and holds six certifications in Herbal Medicine and related fields. She is proudly an esteemed professional member of the American Herbalists Guild, since 2005. Alison is a Motivating Public Speaker, a Published Author, a Creative Product Developer, an Academic Instructor, a Health Coach and a Radio, TV & Print Media Personality. Her recently published children’s book, “Lua the Llama and the Mountain of Joy” is a tale about her Andean spiritual path as a Mesayouk. She is a lead instructor in the Science of Nutrition and Kitchen Medicine at The Institute of Sustainable Nutrition.


Questions & Answers

Alison Birks, MS, AHG, CNS, CDN Answers
Hi I highly recommend this resource : https://www.mossreports.com/ Ralph Moss is a cancer researcher/ expert who has combed the scientific literature to find the best of conventional and alternative medicine for hundreds of types of cancer. Remember— cancer is not just one disease, but many different diseases. There are many variables to consider in each case. I always start by having my clients get this report, which we then review together.
Alison Birks, MS, AHG, CNS, CDN Answers
Another option is to try a coffee alternative like roasted dandelion root. I make a dandelion root chai with almond milk that is a great morning drink.
Alison Birks, MS, AHG, CNS, CDN Answers
Hi Drink plenty of fluids, eart several small meals daily and relax! Stress can inhibit your supply. My favorite foods to enhance supply are: whole grain barley, dark leafy green vegetables, nettles tea, and fennel. Fenugreek herb ( 2 caps, 3-4 times daily) can be tried as a remedy after you have done all of the above. Also make sure baby has good latch and is on each breast for at least 20 minutes to allow the hind milk to come in.

Articles

by Alison Birks, MS, AHG, CNS, CDN
by Alison Birks, MS, AHG, CNS, CDN





Alison Birks

Book an appointment

What service are you interested in?

Where would you like to meet?

Select an available time ()

Tue Sep 21 Wed Sep 22 Thu Sep 23 Fri Sep 24 Sat Sep 25 Sun Sep 26 Mon Sep 27 Tue Sep 28 Wed Sep 29 Thu Sep 30 Fri Oct 1 Sat Oct 2 Sun Oct 3 Mon Oct 4 Tue Oct 5 Wed Oct 6 Thu Oct 7 Fri Oct 8 Sat Oct 9 Sun Oct 10 Mon Oct 11 Tue Oct 12 Wed Oct 13 Thu Oct 14 Fri Oct 15 Sat Oct 16 Sun Oct 17 Mon Oct 18 Tue Oct 19 Wed Oct 20 Thu Oct 21 Fri Oct 22 Sat Oct 23 Sun Oct 24 Mon Oct 25 Tue Oct 26 Wed Oct 27 Thu Oct 28 Fri Oct 29 Sat Oct 30 Sun Oct 31 Mon Nov 1 Tue Nov 2 Wed Nov 3 Thu Nov 4
- 9:30 AM 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM 2:00 PM 2:30 PM 3:00 PM 3:30 PM 4:00 PM - 9:00 AM 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM 11:00 AM 11:30 AM 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM 1:30 PM 2:00 PM 2:30 PM 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM - 9:00 AM 9:30 AM 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM 11:30 AM 12:00 PM 12:30 PM - - 2:00 PM 2:30 PM 3:00 PM 3:30 PM 4:00 PM - 9:00 AM 9:30 AM 10:00 AM 10:30 AM 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM 12:30 PM 1:00 PM - - 2:30 PM 3:00 PM 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM 10:30 AM 11:00 AM 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM 2:00 PM 2:30 PM 3:00 PM 3:30 PM - - - 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM 1:30 PM 2:00 PM 2:30 PM 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM 4:30 PM 9:00 AM 9:30 AM 10:00 AM 10:30 AM 11:00 AM 11:30 AM 12:00 PM 12:30 PM 1:00 PM 1:30 PM - - 3:00 PM - - 4:30 PM 9:00 AM 9:30 AM 10:00 AM 10:30 AM 11:00 AM 11:30 AM 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM - 3:30 PM 4:00 PM - 9:00 AM 9:30 AM 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM 11:30 AM 12:00 PM - - 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM 3:00 PM 3:30 PM 4:00 PM 4:30 PM - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 9:30 AM 10:00 AM 10:30 AM 11:00 AM 11:30 AM 12:00 PM 12:30 PM 1:00 PM 1:30 PM 2:00 PM - - 3:30 PM 4:00 PM 4:30 PM 9:00 AM 9:30 AM 10:00 AM 10:30 AM 11:00 AM 11:30 AM 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM 1:30 PM 2:00 PM 2:30 PM 3:00 PM 3:30 PM 4:00 PM 4:30 PM 9:00 AM 9:30 AM 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM 11:30 AM 12:00 PM 12:30 PM 1:00 PM 1:30 PM 2:00 PM 2:30 PM 3:00 PM 3:30 PM 4:00 PM 4:30 PM 9:00 AM 9:30 AM 10:00 AM - - - - - 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM 3:30 PM 4:00 PM 4:30 PM - 9:30 AM 10:00 AM 10:30 AM 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM 1:30 PM 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM 4:30 PM - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 9:00 AM 9:30 AM 10:00 AM 10:30 AM 11:00 AM 11:30 AM 12:00 PM 12:30 PM 1:00 PM 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM 3:00 PM 3:30 PM 4:00 PM 4:30 PM 9:00 AM 9:30 AM - - - 11:30 AM - - 1:00 PM 1:30 PM 2:00 PM 2:30 PM 3:00 PM 3:30 PM 4:00 PM - - 9:30 AM 10:00 AM 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM 1:00 PM - - - 3:00 PM - - 4:30 PM 9:00 AM 9:30 AM 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM 11:30 AM 12:00 PM 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM 2:00 PM 2:30 PM - - 4:00 PM 4:30 PM - - 10:00 AM 10:30 AM - - - 12:30 PM - - 2:00 PM - - 3:30 PM 4:00 PM 4:30 PM - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 9:00 AM - - 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM - - 1:00 PM 1:30 PM 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM 3:30 PM 4:00 PM - 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM 11:30 AM 12:00 PM 12:30 PM 1:00 PM 1:30 PM 2:00 PM 2:30 PM 3:00 PM 3:30 PM 4:00 PM 4:30 PM 9:00 AM 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM 12:00 PM 12:30 PM - - - 2:30 PM - - 4:00 PM 4:30 PM 9:00 AM 9:30 AM - - 11:00 AM 11:30 AM 12:00 PM 12:30 PM 1:00 PM 1:30 PM 2:00 PM 2:30 PM 3:00 PM 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM - 9:30 AM 10:00 AM 10:30 AM 11:00 AM 11:30 AM 12:00 PM 12:30 PM 1:00 PM 1:30 PM 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM 4:30 PM - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 9:00 AM - - - 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM - - - 2:00 PM - - 3:30 PM 4:00 PM - - - 10:00 AM 10:30 AM 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM - - - 2:00 PM 2:30 PM 3:00 PM - - 4:30 PM 9:00 AM 9:30 AM - - - - - - - 1:30 PM 2:00 PM - - 3:30 PM 4:00 PM 4:30 PM 9:00 AM 9:30 AM 10:00 AM - - - 12:00 PM 12:30 PM 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM 2:30 PM 3:00 PM 3:30 PM 4:00 PM 4:30 PM 9:00 AM - - 10:30 AM 11:00 AM - - 12:30 PM 1:00 PM 1:30 PM 2:00 PM 2:30 PM 3:00 PM 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 9:30 AM 10:00 AM 10:30 AM 11:00 AM 11:30 AM 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM 1:30 PM - - 3:00 PM 3:30 PM 4:00 PM - 9:00 AM 9:30 AM 10:00 AM 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM 12:00 PM 12:30 PM 1:00 PM 1:30 PM 2:00 PM 2:30 PM 3:00 PM 3:30 PM 4:00 PM 4:30 PM 9:00 AM 9:30 AM 10:00 AM 10:30 AM 11:00 AM - - - 1:00 PM 1:30 PM 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM 3:30 PM 4:00 PM - 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM 10:30 AM 11:00 AM 11:30 AM 12:00 PM 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM - - 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM -