Melissa Butler

Holistic Psychotherapy MS, LLP

I love this poem by Rumi. He expresses a clear understanding of the complexity of being human.

Ann Arbor, MI

Recent Reviews

0 of 5 (0)

Melissa Butler has no reviews yet! Be the first to leave a review!


Book a Service

Initial consultation
Free initial consultation.
15 Minutes   •   FREE

Endorsements

Emotional Trauma
Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
Chronic Pain

Practice Locations & Hours


Ann Arbor
120 E Liberty St, Suite 215, Ann Arbor MI 48104, United States
Mon: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tue: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wed: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thu: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Fri: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Learn More About Melissa Butler

About me

Does it feel like you are living the same dreary days over and over? Are relationships difficult and disappointing? Do you privately struggle with depression and anxiety? Do you wonder what might be wrong with you, seeing healer after healer? Are you living with pain that the allopathic medical community is unable to help you with? Do you rely on substances to help you manage your moods and days?

Often people are struggling with so many problems at once. It can feel really difficult to find a sliver of hope, or a new direction to go in. One of my favorite stories is of the spread of modern day vipassana meditation. A wealthy business man was ill. He visited many doctors, and though he had lots of money to access the finest medical resources in the world, nothing seemed to help. Finally, after exhausting all sense of possible treatments, he came upon vipassana meditation, which he doubted would help him at all. To his surprise, during his first retreat, he discovered wellness and reprieve from his maladies. He then organized and dedicated his life to this practice, which is why we know of it here in the west today.

Vipassana meditation is of course not the answer for everyone. This story does however exemplify the importance of the healing path as a unique and individual journey, where discovery and ingenuity are often born. From this process, people may blossom into a new and exciting life that would have in the past been impossible. By moving through what is in front of us is how we grow and evolve into free flowing life force energy - freedom.

When I work with clients, I hold a deep respect for their process, the timing and pacing of therapy, and the process of discovery. We work together to build a relationship that is safe and where healing is possible.

While the therapeutic process is unique to each individual, I most heavily lean towards somatic and mindfulness based approaches: Somatic approaches because the body holds the important information that the mind is busy working to avoid or bypass (keeping us stuck); Mindfulness because it strengthens our ability to regulate emotions and builds awareness, a key tool needed to create change.


Gallery






Melissa Butler

Book an appointment

What service are you interested in?

Where would you like to meet?

Select an available time ()

Sat Dec 4 Sun Dec 5 Mon Dec 6 Tue Dec 7 Wed Dec 8 Thu Dec 9 Fri Dec 10 Sat Dec 11 Sun Dec 12 Mon Dec 13 Tue Dec 14 Wed Dec 15 Thu Dec 16 Fri Dec 17 Sat Dec 18 Sun Dec 19 Mon Dec 20 Tue Dec 21 Wed Dec 22 Thu Dec 23 Fri Dec 24 Sat Dec 25 Sun Dec 26 Mon Dec 27 Tue Dec 28 Wed Dec 29 Thu Dec 30 Fri Dec 31 Sat Jan 1 Sun Jan 2 Mon Jan 3 Tue Jan 4 Wed Jan 5 Thu Jan 6 Fri Jan 7 Sat Jan 8 Sun Jan 9 Mon Jan 10 Tue Jan 11 Wed Jan 12 Thu Jan 13 Fri Jan 14 Sat Jan 15 Sun Jan 16 Mon Jan 17
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -