Alissa Mathewson

Trauma-Informed Yoga Instructor and Reiki Practitioner

Compassion Yoga with Alissa

Trauma Informed Yoga Instructor

Sylmar, CA

Recent Reviews

5.0 of 5 (2)
My therapist suggested that I take a private yoga class. I kicked the idea right out of my mind because there was no way I was going to go to some gym as big as I am and take some cute little girls yoga class. Then when it came up again my Doctor suggested that I ask the instructor if I could have a private class. I found out about Alissa through a mutual family member. She also was taking on private clients. Well that sounded way more attractive and I haven’t looked back since. Alissa’s class has helped me connect my head to my body and helped me feel my feet on the floor and I can ground myself now when I have a PTSD episode. She has been able to help me to heal from some of my trauma. I can see it for what it is now, and I can express what has happened to me in a safe and physical way that helps me keep my body moving. Now I am not some little person. I weighed over 300 pounds and she has helped me so much that I have been able to lose weight and get some muscle tone back into my legs. Without any diet or medication. I have been learning to breathe and just be my natural self and it's all coming together. She does restorative yoga with me and teaches me to breathe from my core and my life feels so much more vital than I have ever felt. I am very thankful for Alissa and her wisdom and experience around the human body, mind and spirit. Say yes to a class with Alissa, you will not regret it. She is also very professional and respectful, I couldn’t speak more highly of a person than I do her. She has helped me so much. Thank you Alissa. I am not exaggerating either, you are the best.
I came to Alissa after a back injury and we focused on strengthening my core and stretching to relieve those muscles around my injury. It was so helpful for me and the best relief I'd had after trying both physical therapy and acupuncture. Once healed I have continued to work with Alissa for both in person and virtual sessions and I would highly recommend her. She has a wonderful way of connecting with clients and finding the right plan for your body, mind and spirit!

Book a Service

Initial consultation
Free initial consultation.
15 Minutes   •   FREE

Endorsements

Bodywork
Chronic Pain
Emotional Release

Practice Locations & Hours


Los Angeles
Los Angeles CA 91342, United States
Mon: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tue: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wed: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thu: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Fri: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sat: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sun: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Learn More About Alissa Mathewson

About me

I am a Trauma-Informed Yoga Instructor specializing in Pregnancy Loss/Miscarriage and Birth Trauma, though I have experience in many varying traumas (auto accidents, Dissociative Identity Disorder, sexual abuse, chronic pain, and addiction, to name a few)

I studied Hatha yoga and received my 200 hr. YTT in India in 2012. In 2018, I suffered a traumatic miscarriage. As someone who was in touch with my body, I was shocked at how disconnected the experience made me from myself. I knew I had to do something. I began EMDR therapy for myself, and learned about somatic experiencing. This led me to find Trauma-Informed Yoga training and I began working with people who had experienced Pregnancy Loss/Miscarriage. Most recently, I had our rainbow baby (baby after miscarriage), and experienced a traumatic birth. I am currently studying Trauma Conscious Reproductive Health at the Trauma Conscious Yoga Institute to further my knowledge.

I am also a Reiki practitioner and use energy healing in my practice when the client is comfortable.

I am passionate about helping you to find the healing that already exists within you. I am merely a conduit. As someone who has been through trauma personally, I know what it's like to live with it, and how unbearable it can be.

My Philosophy of Care

I started yoga because I had shingles from stress at 26 (way too young!), and my Chiropractor suggested Yoga. I laughed and thought yoga was only for calm, quiet people, which was not me! However, I was in so much pain and desperate for help, I tried it. And I learned that yoga can be for everyone. It helped me manage my stress, and I have been using it as a tool to stay healthy in body, mind, and spirit ever since.

What You Can Expect On Your First Visit

Life-changing, comforting, eye-opening, healing.

My Inspiration

This type of yoga invites you to step back into your body as you learn the tools to regulate and ground. You will never be forced to do anything. Trauma took your power, your choice, away... through Trauma-Informed Yoga you will gain it back.


Gallery


Alissa Mathewson Reviews

5.0 of 5 (2)
My therapist suggested that I take a private yoga class. I kicked the idea right out of my mind because there was no way I was going to go to some gym as big as I am and take some cute little girls yoga class. Then when it came up again my Doctor suggested that I ask the instructor if I could have a private class. I found out about Alissa through a mutual family member. She also was taking on private clients. Well that sounded way more attractive and I haven’t looked back since. Alissa’s class has helped me connect my head to my body and helped me feel my feet on the floor and I can ground myself now when I have a PTSD episode. She has been able to help me to heal from some of my trauma. I can see it for what it is now, and I can express what has happened to me in a safe and physical way that helps me keep my body moving. Now I am not some little person. I weighed over 300 pounds and she has helped me so much that I have been able to lose weight and get some muscle tone back into my legs. Without any diet or medication. I have been learning to breathe and just be my natural self and it's all coming together. She does restorative yoga with me and teaches me to breathe from my core and my life feels so much more vital than I have ever felt. I am very thankful for Alissa and her wisdom and experience around the human body, mind and spirit. Say yes to a class with Alissa, you will not regret it. She is also very professional and respectful, I couldn’t speak more highly of a person than I do her. She has helped me so much. Thank you Alissa. I am not exaggerating either, you are the best.
I came to Alissa after a back injury and we focused on strengthening my core and stretching to relieve those muscles around my injury. It was so helpful for me and the best relief I'd had after trying both physical therapy and acupuncture. Once healed I have continued to work with Alissa for both in person and virtual sessions and I would highly recommend her. She has a wonderful way of connecting with clients and finding the right plan for your body, mind and spirit!





Alissa Mathewson
2 Reviews

Book an appointment

What service are you interested in?

Where would you like to meet?

Select an available time ()

Fri Jan 21 Sat Jan 22 Sun Jan 23 Mon Jan 24 Tue Jan 25 Wed Jan 26 Thu Jan 27 Fri Jan 28 Sat Jan 29 Sun Jan 30 Mon Jan 31 Tue Feb 1 Wed Feb 2 Thu Feb 3 Fri Feb 4 Sat Feb 5 Sun Feb 6 Mon Feb 7 Tue Feb 8 Wed Feb 9 Thu Feb 10 Fri Feb 11 Sat Feb 12 Sun Feb 13 Mon Feb 14 Tue Feb 15 Wed Feb 16 Thu Feb 17 Fri Feb 18 Sat Feb 19 Sun Feb 20 Mon Feb 21 Tue Feb 22 Wed Feb 23 Thu Feb 24 Fri Feb 25 Sat Feb 26 Sun Feb 27 Mon Feb 28 Tue Mar 1 Wed Mar 2 Thu Mar 3 Fri Mar 4 Sat Mar 5 Sun Mar 6
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -