Allana McKinnon, FDN-P

Functional Health Practitioner

Stop chasing symptoms. Uncover the root problem. Get your life back!

Golden, CO

Recent Reviews

5.0 of 5 (2)
Allana has been such a wonderful mentor to me; talking to me every week and answering all of my questions. She has taught me so much about how to take care of myself and opened my eyes to how important everything that goes into our bodies is. She has inspired me to read more, cook more, and continue learning about ways to improve my life. Today, I still have IBS, but now I'm at a point where the days I don't have symptoms outnumber the days I do. I am looking forward to taking what I have learned from Allana into my future and sharing it with my family and friends, which can be as simple as making a healthy and nutritious meal.
I was diagnosed with Grave’s Disease (autoimmune disease that affects the thyroid) 2 ½ years ago. My symptoms were severe and I was told by doctors that I needed to have surgery to remove my thyroid. I wasn’t willing to settle for this option and sought another opinion from Allana. With her patient-centered care, today I am nearly free of all symptoms and still have my very important thyroid gland! I am forever grateful to her.

Book a Service

Initial consultation
Free initial consultation.
15 Minutes   •   FREE

Endorsements

Chronic Pain
Insomnia
Chronic Fatigue

Practice Locations & Hours


Golden
Golden CO 80401, United States
Mon: 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Thu: 9:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Sat: 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Learn More About Allana McKinnon, FDN-P

About me

Are you eating healthy, doing everything right, yet still feel horrible?

Sometimes diet is not enough and something deeper must be addressed.

I found this myself after eating well for years (and successfully teaching others nutrition), working to heal my gut and detoxifying my life, I was still sick, in chronic pain and exhausted!

I knew something deeper was going on, despite "normal" lab tests through my doctor. That's when I found answers and became a Certified Functional Diagnostic Nutrition Practitioner. Through my own lab testing, I discovered I had multiple parasites, pathogenic bacteria, a yeast overgrowth, SIBO, vitamin deficiencies, heavy metal toxicity, tanked hormones and immune dysfunction. No wonder I couldn't get well with diet, alone.

By addressing the cause of my ill health, I am now healthy!

I can help you find out WHY you feel sick. Through functional lab testing, we will look at what infections, toxins and imbalances are causing your symptoms and keeping you from the life of health and vibrancy you desire. Since I came to this profession through my own ill health journey and seeking answers, I understand what it's like to have confusing, complex symptoms.

I will help you determine what functional lab tests will best illuminate the underlying cause of your illness and help you understand how the findings are contributing to your symptoms. In partnership, we will create a road map toward better health by eliminating the factors causing your illness and symptoms, bringing in encouraging and meaningful lifestyle interventions, honing in on the right nutrition for you and I will help guide you in unblocking the physical and emotional factors that led to poor health.

My clients frequently comment that they enjoy working with me because they feel truly understood, truly heard (often for the first time in their life), and they can feel my compassionate heart as I provide them with the answers they are so desperately seeking.


Gallery


Questions & Answers

Allana McKinnon, FDN-P Answers
Sleep is one of the most important health influencers. To get quality and the right quantity for you, I like to have clients implement "sleep hygiene". Find a routine that works for you. Some musts are turning off all screens 1-2 hours before bed, not engaging in an emotionally charging event (like talking to someone you don't care for), and dimming the lights or using amber colored glasses or light bulbs about 2 hours before bed. All of these habits will begin to turn down your Cortisol production and turn up your Melatonin production, making you sleepy. Some additional habits I like to use are taking a bath or shower with calming essential oils, reading a book, using a salt crystal lamp in your bedroom, writing down a "worry list" or "to do" list so you can calm your thoughts, or meditation. If you are dealing with toxicity or heavy metals, using a binder like charcoal, modified citrus pectin or zeolite before bed can boost detox (be sure to check with your doctor first and always take binders at least 2 hours away from meds, supplements and food). Every hour of sleep you get before midnight counts double for rest, repair and rejuvenation!

Allana McKinnon Reviews

5.0 of 5 (2)
Allana has been such a wonderful mentor to me; talking to me every week and answering all of my questions. She has taught me so much about how to take care of myself and opened my eyes to how important everything that goes into our bodies is. She has inspired me to read more, cook more, and continue learning about ways to improve my life. Today, I still have IBS, but now I'm at a point where the days I don't have symptoms outnumber the days I do. I am looking forward to taking what I have learned from Allana into my future and sharing it with my family and friends, which can be as simple as making a healthy and nutritious meal.
I was diagnosed with Grave’s Disease (autoimmune disease that affects the thyroid) 2 ½ years ago. My symptoms were severe and I was told by doctors that I needed to have surgery to remove my thyroid. I wasn’t willing to settle for this option and sought another opinion from Allana. With her patient-centered care, today I am nearly free of all symptoms and still have my very important thyroid gland! I am forever grateful to her.





Allana McKinnon, FDN-P
2 Reviews

Book an appointment

What service are you interested in?

Where would you like to meet?

Select an available time ()

Thu Jan 20 Fri Jan 21 Sat Jan 22 Sun Jan 23 Mon Jan 24 Tue Jan 25 Wed Jan 26 Thu Jan 27 Fri Jan 28 Sat Jan 29 Sun Jan 30 Mon Jan 31 Tue Feb 1 Wed Feb 2 Thu Feb 3 Fri Feb 4 Sat Feb 5 Sun Feb 6 Mon Feb 7 Tue Feb 8 Wed Feb 9 Thu Feb 10 Fri Feb 11 Sat Feb 12 Sun Feb 13 Mon Feb 14 Tue Feb 15 Wed Feb 16 Thu Feb 17 Fri Feb 18 Sat Feb 19 Sun Feb 20 Mon Feb 21 Tue Feb 22 Wed Feb 23 Thu Feb 24 Fri Feb 25 Sat Feb 26 Sun Feb 27 Mon Feb 28 Tue Mar 1 Wed Mar 2 Thu Mar 3 Fri Mar 4 Sat Mar 5
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -