Dr. Brad Dyer, DO

Osteopath

Learn to Build a Healthy Lifestyle

Kansas City, MO

Recent Reviews

0 of 5 (0)

Dr Brad Dyer has no reviews yet! Be the first to leave a review!


Book a Service

Initial consultation
Free initial consultation.
15 Minutes   •   FREE

Endorsements

Depression
Metabolic Syndrome
Adrenal Fatigue

Practice Locations & Hours


Kansas City
529 Walnut St, 230, Kansas City MO 64106, United States
Mon: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tue: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wed: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thu: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Fri: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Learn More About Dr. Brad Dyer, DO

About me

My entry into the medical field started with a passion for fitness and nutrition and a fascination with the amazing abilities of the human body. This prompted me to take an anatomy and physiology class my sophomore year of college and things were never the same. I entered medical school with a passion to practice lifestyle medicine; however, like so many other physicians, somewhere along the way my traditional medical education and training led me down a path that was primarily focused on disease management rather than health promotion.

I completed a 5 year residency at the University of Kansas Medical Center in both Internal Medicine and Psychiatry. Nearing the end of my residency I had aspirations of seeking out additional training in Integrative Medicine; at that same time, my first son had just been born, and it was time for me to start earning a living to support my family. Out of all aspects of my residency training I felt I was best trained to do hospital medicine and accepted a Hospitalist position at The University of Kansas Hospital. I enjoyed the challenge and acuity of managing hospitalized patients at a large academic medical center, and the schedule afforded me lots of time to spend with my family and do self-directed study in Integrative Medicine.

After just a couple of years of practicing hospital medicine, I began to realize how misguided our healthcare system can be. In the hospital, I was expected to practice in a very protocol driven way which in acute, life threatening situations can be life-saving. However, the majority of patients were there for exacerbations of chronic illnesses and the protocols only addressed the symptoms of the disease and did very little to alter the disease process itself. In some cases, I even felt this type of medicine was doing more harm than good. I would see the same patients with the same problems over and over again, and my current medical training did not give me much to prevent this. It was a very discouraging feeling and made me explore why I wanted to be a doctor in the first place. During that exploration, I discovered Dr. Andrew Weil’s Fellowship in Integrative Medicine, and I knew it would play a role in my future career.

While looking deeper into the philosophies of Integrative Medicine, the passion that originally prompted me to go to medical school came rushing back. I applied and was accepted to the 2 year fellowship for which I am currently completing. Spending time in the Integrative and Holistic medicine space has also led me to a discipline that I truly believe is the future of chronic disease management and that is Functional Medicine. Functional and Integrative medicine are very similar in that they are both patient-centered approaches that addresses the whole person, not just an isolated set of symptoms. My Functional Medicine training gives me the skills and knowledge to find the root cause of dysfunction and disease in the body and provides a framework in which to apply my Integrative Medicine training to restore the body to its optimal state.

When I am not practicing or studying medicine I enjoy spending time with my wife, Liz and 2 awesome little boys, Noah and Conner. I have a passion for cycling and most anything outdoors and love supporting my Royals, Chiefs and Jayhawks. I look forward to partnering with you and learning what true health means to you and how together we can get you there.


Gallery






Dr. Brad Dyer, DO

Book an appointment

What service are you interested in?

Where would you like to meet?

Select an available time ()

Thu Jan 27 Fri Jan 28 Sat Jan 29 Sun Jan 30 Mon Jan 31 Tue Feb 1 Wed Feb 2 Thu Feb 3 Fri Feb 4 Sat Feb 5 Sun Feb 6 Mon Feb 7 Tue Feb 8 Wed Feb 9 Thu Feb 10 Fri Feb 11 Sat Feb 12 Sun Feb 13 Mon Feb 14 Tue Feb 15 Wed Feb 16 Thu Feb 17 Fri Feb 18 Sat Feb 19 Sun Feb 20 Mon Feb 21 Tue Feb 22 Wed Feb 23 Thu Feb 24 Fri Feb 25 Sat Feb 26 Sun Feb 27 Mon Feb 28 Tue Mar 1 Wed Mar 2 Thu Mar 3 Fri Mar 4 Sat Mar 5 Sun Mar 6 Mon Mar 7 Tue Mar 8 Wed Mar 9 Thu Mar 10 Fri Mar 11 Sat Mar 12
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -