Jason Kanter, LMSW

LMSW, Psychotherapist, Yoga Therapist

Initially, I strive to create a safe "container;" a trusting environment within which people can enter into a process

New York City, NY

Recent Reviews

5.0 of 5 (5)
"My work with Jason started 12 years ago. I had experienced traditional psychotherapy and thought I had some level of self-awareness. A friend had told me about working with Jason in a body-centered approach, which had a powerful effect. In searching for a therapist, I had met with several psychologists, all of whom charged me for a brief consultation. By contrast, Jason spoke to me for over an hour by phone - without any mention of money - to learn about me and determine whether he could help me. This says it all about Jason. His focus is on his clients - on doing the work to heal them with compassion. "That is what Jason has done for me. I had been bullied as a child and teenager. The experience left me wounded with chronic, extreme muscle tightness and psycho-emotional manifestations related to fear and anger - such as hyper-vigilance (i.e. constant worry). "Working with Jason, I gained body awareness and then mind-body connections that deepened my self-understanding and instigated deep healing. I do not know of any other true practitioner, who combines healing modalities, compassion, wisdom, and consciousness in Jason's unique way. Jason has my highest respect and recommendation. I am happy to serve as a reference."
I had been beset by several personal and medical problems. They all seemed overwhelming to me until I started working with Jason. Through his help, I learned how to deal with things in a more constructive way, and it led me to experience life in a fuller perspective than I had before."
"Jason is an amazing support with an array of strategies to help you feel whole, balanced, grounded and just plain great. Ever present and compassionate, he keeps you focused on the right path with right effort and assists with the excavation of soul and spirit. Very simply -- he's a spectacular teacher and therapist."
Show all 5 Reviews

Book a Service

Initial consultation
Free initial consultation.
15 Minutes   •   FREE

Practice Locations & Hours


New York
314 W 56th St, New York NY 10019, United States
Mon: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tue: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wed: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thu: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Fri: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Gallery


Jason Kanter Reviews

5.0 of 5 (5)
"My work with Jason started 12 years ago. I had experienced traditional psychotherapy and thought I had some level of self-awareness. A friend had told me about working with Jason in a body-centered approach, which had a powerful effect. In searching for a therapist, I had met with several psychologists, all of whom charged me for a brief consultation. By contrast, Jason spoke to me for over an hour by phone - without any mention of money - to learn about me and determine whether he could help me. This says it all about Jason. His focus is on his clients - on doing the work to heal them with compassion. "That is what Jason has done for me. I had been bullied as a child and teenager. The experience left me wounded with chronic, extreme muscle tightness and psycho-emotional manifestations related to fear and anger - such as hyper-vigilance (i.e. constant worry). "Working with Jason, I gained body awareness and then mind-body connections that deepened my self-understanding and instigated deep healing. I do not know of any other true practitioner, who combines healing modalities, compassion, wisdom, and consciousness in Jason's unique way. Jason has my highest respect and recommendation. I am happy to serve as a reference."
I had been beset by several personal and medical problems. They all seemed overwhelming to me until I started working with Jason. Through his help, I learned how to deal with things in a more constructive way, and it led me to experience life in a fuller perspective than I had before."
"Jason is an amazing support with an array of strategies to help you feel whole, balanced, grounded and just plain great. Ever present and compassionate, he keeps you focused on the right path with right effort and assists with the excavation of soul and spirit. Very simply -- he's a spectacular teacher and therapist."
"What I enjoy most about working with Jason Kanter is his ability to integrate the work of Body, Mind & Spirit, all in one session! I've always seen the spiritual arena as crucial to balancing the day to day challenges and obstacles of life, but to combine this with a body-centered approach that also utilizes the creative components of spiritual psychology and yoga, made therapy a weekly experience to look forward to! The chance to work through my problems from the inside out: beginning with sensations and feelings, and then adding the integrative component of processing those experiences in the here and now. It's like slowing down and re-shaping old patterns by listening to the body I'm living in today".
"I worked with Jason during a period in my life when I was in a major transition and found the experience transformational. Jason holds a very safe, sacred space and is a compassionate, clear and grounding presence. I experienced very deep emotional and spiritual healing with him. I was able to cultivate connections and relationships with my body and my soul that have grounded and centered me in my life in ways that have been essential and life giving. I learned and grew so much working with Jason. I am deeply grateful and feel very blessed to know and have gotten to work with him".





Jason Kanter, LMSW
5 Reviews

Book an appointment

What service are you interested in?

Where would you like to meet?

Select an available time ()

Mon Aug 15 Tue Aug 16 Wed Aug 17 Thu Aug 18 Fri Aug 19 Sat Aug 20 Sun Aug 21 Mon Aug 22 Tue Aug 23 Wed Aug 24 Thu Aug 25 Fri Aug 26 Sat Aug 27 Sun Aug 28 Mon Aug 29 Tue Aug 30 Wed Aug 31 Thu Sep 1 Fri Sep 2 Sat Sep 3 Sun Sep 4 Mon Sep 5 Tue Sep 6 Wed Sep 7 Thu Sep 8 Fri Sep 9 Sat Sep 10 Sun Sep 11 Mon Sep 12 Tue Sep 13 Wed Sep 14 Thu Sep 15 Fri Sep 16 Sat Sep 17 Sun Sep 18 Mon Sep 19 Tue Sep 20 Wed Sep 21 Thu Sep 22 Fri Sep 23 Sat Sep 24 Sun Sep 25 Mon Sep 26 Tue Sep 27 Wed Sep 28
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -