Dora Toma

Functional Medicine Health Coach, Pregnancy Health Coach

I'm a Functional Medicine Health Coach who partners with women that are trying to get pregnant and minimize their risk of miscarriage.

Fort Lauderdale, FL

Recent Reviews

5.0 of 5 (2)
Dora is the best partner I could've asked during my pregnancy. She helped me understand how to manage the day to day stresses and also prepare for the new baby.
Dora is all you want in a health coach. She is knowledgeable, friendly, compassionate, helpful and a great listener! She has given me so much clarity about health and eating patterns. I highly recommend her!

Book a Service

Initial consultation
Free initial consultation.
15 Minutes   •   FREE

Endorsements

Fibroids
Adrenal Health
Gestational Diabetes

Practice Locations & Hours


Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale , Fort Lauderdale FL 33304, United States
Mon: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tue: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wed: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thu: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Fri: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Learn More About Dora Toma

About me

The main focus of Functional Medicine Health Coaching is to understand the objectives of pregnant women, and help create true rapport with each and every one of them, where every expecting mother builds on their strengths, learns to adapt and thrive, and works toward individual goals. A Pregnancy Health Coach supports the expert advice given by doctors, helping each one of them to reach their goals of caring for body, mind and spirit during pregnancy and beyond.

My journey into Functional Medicine was inspired by a trained practitioner that helped me through some of the toughest times of my life. Having just had a preterm labor at 23 weeks due to a Suchorionic Hematoma, the functional medicine doctor helped optimize my health, reverse my Polycystic Ovary Syndrome, known as PCOS and Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis as well as heal Small Intestine Bacteria Overgrowth, or SIBO.

My passion and previous research into health and wellness as well as spending time with my doctor and now mentor, lead me to deepen my understanding of functional medicine, build on my desire to share the knowledge and help others overcome their health challenges.

There are a lot of women who are going through difficult pregnancies and even the risk-free pregnancies are not free of fears, questions, doubts and challenges.

As a Certified Health Coach I am working with pregnant and moms-to-be, with the ultimate goal to educate them on optimal ways to positively impact the pregnancy, motivate and inspire lasting lifestyle changes in for their health and the health of their babies.

My knowledge and experience allows me to empower women of all ages with ideal solutions that help them through a healthy pregnancy, enhance baby’s delivery, growth and development while minimizing any potential health issues risks, before, during and after delivery.

My Philosophy of Care

My own experience. I was pregnant a year ago and unfortunately the pregnancy got to an end before the due date, at 23 weeks.
Although I had the right tools to recover mentally and physically, it was still very hard.
Like many women who go through a miscarriage, a loss or infertility, I needed the right support to overcome this time of my life and find a way to start all over again.
That is why I decided to dedicate my work to women who are going through this experience and want to healthier and have a successful pregnancy sooner than later.
Having a healthy lifestyle is the foundation for any pregnancy, from natural to medically assisted (Fertility Clinics).

What You Can Expect On Your First Visit

Inspiring

My Inspiration

With Health Coaching you will discover that you CAN change your habits for good and you can overcome your fears and become pregnant.


Gallery


Questions & Answers

Dora Toma Answers
I agree with Dr. Grace. But when it comes to food source - definitely the food with the highest amount of iron will be liver and then oysters, organ meats and meat in general. Animal source iron is the most bioavailable. Plant source non-heme iron is poorly absorbed because plants contain compounds like phytic acid, oxalates, and certain polyphenols. There are several ways to enhance iron absorption from your diet: 1. Combine with a source of vitamin C or other acidic ingredients (marinades, tomato sauce, etc) 2. Avoid eating calcium-rich foods at the same time with iron-rich foods since they compete in absorption. 3. Avoid antacids (they compete as well with iron absorption) 4. Consider cooking in cast iron pans, which can "fortify" your food. While working on the diet part you will still need to discuss with a trained practitioner and find the root cause of your low iron level.
Dora Toma Answers
Hi Ryan, before you jump in a supplement for sleep I would recommend to assess what is the cause of your sleep. What are your symptoms? Are you having a hard time falling asleep? Do you wake up during the night and can't fall back? What is your sleep routine? What are you doing in that last hour before bed? Do you exercise in the evening? Do you watch TV, look on your phone/tablet/laptop? Do you practice relaxation techniques? When is your last meal? And what are you usually eating? Do you drink coffee, green/black tea in the second part of the day? How is your energy levels in the morning and during the day? How is your temperature in the bedroom? Is your bedroom completely dark? Most of the time sleep issues will be corrected with lifestyle changes. Unfortunately just taking a supplement without making any lifestyle change will have little to no effect, especially on a long term. If you need help on navigating these lifestyle changes please let me know as I would be delighted to help!
Dora Toma Answers
Hi Ryan, before you jump in a supplement for sleep I would recommend to assess what is the cause of your sleep. What are your symptoms? Are you having a hard time falling asleep? Do you wake up during the night and can't fall back? What is your sleep routine? What are you doing in that last hour before bed? Do you exercise in the evening? Do you watch TV, look on your phone/tablet/laptop? Do you practice relaxation techniques? When is your last meal? And what are you usually eating? Do you drink coffee, green/black tea in the second part of the day? How is your energy levels in the morning and during the day? How is your temperature in the bedroom? Is your bedroom completely dark? Most of the time sleep issues will be corrected with lifestyle changes. Unfortunately just taking a supplement without making any lifestyle change will have little to no effect, especially on a long term. If you need help on navigating these lifestyle changes please let me know as I would be delighted to help!

Articles


Dora Toma Reviews

5.0 of 5 (2)
Dora is the best partner I could've asked during my pregnancy. She helped me understand how to manage the day to day stresses and also prepare for the new baby.
Dora is all you want in a health coach. She is knowledgeable, friendly, compassionate, helpful and a great listener! She has given me so much clarity about health and eating patterns. I highly recommend her!





Dora Toma
2 Reviews

Book an appointment

What service are you interested in?

Where would you like to meet?

Select an available time ()

Thu Jan 27 Fri Jan 28 Sat Jan 29 Sun Jan 30 Mon Jan 31 Tue Feb 1 Wed Feb 2 Thu Feb 3 Fri Feb 4 Sat Feb 5 Sun Feb 6 Mon Feb 7 Tue Feb 8 Wed Feb 9 Thu Feb 10 Fri Feb 11 Sat Feb 12 Sun Feb 13 Mon Feb 14 Tue Feb 15 Wed Feb 16 Thu Feb 17 Fri Feb 18 Sat Feb 19 Sun Feb 20 Mon Feb 21 Tue Feb 22 Wed Feb 23 Thu Feb 24 Fri Feb 25 Sat Feb 26 Sun Feb 27 Mon Feb 28 Tue Mar 1 Wed Mar 2 Thu Mar 3 Fri Mar 4 Sat Mar 5 Sun Mar 6 Mon Mar 7 Tue Mar 8 Wed Mar 9 Thu Mar 10 Fri Mar 11 Sat Mar 12
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -