Theodore Levarda

Licensed Acupuncturist

Acupuncture for Pain & Stress Related Disorders

New York City, NY

Recent Reviews

5.0 of 5 (3)
Teddy helped me address stomach issues that have persisted for long over a decade, through herbs and acupuncture. Despite being nervous about acupuncture, his calm demeanor made me feel incredibly at ease and I always had a wonderful experience. I felt a noticeable difference after each visit and would highly recommend him.
I first went to Teddy for acupuncture services after having quite a few leg cramps and soreness all related to post-running muscle strains. Teddy calmly and intelligently explains in very easy to understand terms the beauty of how acupuncture can relieve those sore muscles and allow me to have a quicker recovery after running many miles. Within a day or two, not only could I feel that my body was more relaxed, but the pain, soreness, and stiffness was completely gone. I am now training for my first full marathon and will be using his services for all my body aches and pains that will surely come with rigorous training. I couldn’t be more satisfied with his service and highly recommend him for anyone looking to an alternative method to pain relief. Thanks, Teddy!
Any fear of something so rewarding is irrational. Teddy has made acupuncture my cup of tea now.

License, Credentials & Experience

Licensed Acupuncturist
New York State Office of the Professions (NYSED) , #6533

Book a Service

Initial consultation
Free initial consultation.
15 Minutes   •   FREE

Endorsements

Pain
Stress Fractures
Crohn's Disease

Practice Locations & Hours


New York
211 W 106th St, 1B, New York NY 10025, United States
Mon: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Wed: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Fri: 3:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Sat: 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Learn More About Theodore Levarda

About me

I am a licensed acupuncturist and board certified in Oriental medicine (acupuncture & Chinese herbs). I blend 3 styles of acupuncture along with Chinese herbs, cupping, electroacupuncture, gua sha, heat lamp therapy, and moxibustion as needed to provide unique and individualized treatments.

My Philosophy of Care

My story is similar to many of my acupuncture patients. I was dealing with chronic pain and spent the better part of two years going to doctors, physical therapists, osteaopaths, personal trainers, yoga classes, swimming, and anyone else that claimed they could help with chronic pain. I tried medications, cortisone injections, and once an epidural in my back was recommended I decided to reassess the situation. I was left frustrated that the solution was to keep applying band-aids rather than understand the whole picture and underlying cause of my pain. I finally found my way to acupuncture, which was the only thing that provided lasting relief. My experience made me decide to pursue acupuncture as a career and help others that are struggling with chronic health issues.

What You Can Expect On Your First Visit

I hope that most patients leave their first visit feeling understood and more hopeful about their ability to heal from whatever it is they are coming in for. They usually feel more relaxed, less tense, and in less pain than when they came in. When using trigger point or muscle release techniques it is normal to be sore for a day or two after treatment as if you did a workout.

My Inspiration

Acupuncture works on many levels. On a physical level it works by releasing pain relieving endorphins, rebalancing the nervous system to promote relaxation, improving circulation, and reducing inflammation. On a deeper level is promotes an awareness of our mind-body connection by bringing attention to areas that store tension in our bodies. It takes a holistic view of health which encourages us to be inquisitive about the root causes of our health imbalances.


Practice Details

Insurance accepted
Out-of-network
Out of Network

Gallery


Questions & Answers

Theodore Levarda Answers
It depends on the case - the nerves involved and the degree of damage. An acupuncturist would be better able to assess in person. In general, acupuncture can help with neuropathy. For example, one study showed that acupuncture helped nerve conduction in peripheral neuropathy (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17355547).
Theodore Levarda Answers
Yes - acupuncture can help hip pain. There are many types of hip pain. It is important to rule out any serious hip conditions via imaging like x-ray and MRI. In many cases those will come up clean and the hip pain will be due to muscular tightness. There are many muscles that attach to the hip and the ones that are involved depend on where the pain is. For example sciatica can be caused by tightness in the piriformis (if the pain travels down the back of the leg) or the gluteus minimus (if the pain travels down the side of the leg). My approach to hip pain due to muscle tightness involves using a combination of traditional acupuncture points as well as incorporating trigger point release in any muscles that are involved. I generally look for knots or trigger points in the low back, gluteal, hip rotator, hamstring, and quadriceps muscles since they all attach somewhere in the hip. Releasing any tension or trigger points in these muscles will help reduce hip pain and increase range of motion because they all attach into the hip area. When a muscle is tight it pulls on the attaching structures which can result in pain and restricted range of motion.
Theodore Levarda Answers
Yes - acupuncture can help frozen shoulder and chronic shoulder pain. I commonly see very tight shoulder muscles in frozen shoulder patients. This can include any of the muscles that attach to the shoulder. My approach to this condition involves using a combination of traditional acupuncture points as well as incorporating trigger point release in any muscles that are involved. I generally look for knots or trigger points in the following muscles: infraspinatus, deltoid, scalene, supraspinatus, pectoralis major/minor, biceps, corachobrachialis, and latissimus dorsi. Releasing any tension in these muscles will help reduce shoulder pain and increase range of motion because they all attach into the shoulder area. When a muscle is tight it pulls on the attaching structures which can result in pain and restricted range of motion.

Articles


Theodore Levarda Reviews

5.0 of 5 (3)
Teddy helped me address stomach issues that have persisted for long over a decade, through herbs and acupuncture. Despite being nervous about acupuncture, his calm demeanor made me feel incredibly at ease and I always had a wonderful experience. I felt a noticeable difference after each visit and would highly recommend him.
I first went to Teddy for acupuncture services after having quite a few leg cramps and soreness all related to post-running muscle strains. Teddy calmly and intelligently explains in very easy to understand terms the beauty of how acupuncture can relieve those sore muscles and allow me to have a quicker recovery after running many miles. Within a day or two, not only could I feel that my body was more relaxed, but the pain, soreness, and stiffness was completely gone. I am now training for my first full marathon and will be using his services for all my body aches and pains that will surely come with rigorous training. I couldn’t be more satisfied with his service and highly recommend him for anyone looking to an alternative method to pain relief. Thanks, Teddy!
Any fear of something so rewarding is irrational. Teddy has made acupuncture my cup of tea now.





Theodore Levarda
3 Reviews

Book an appointment

What service are you interested in?

Where would you like to meet?

Select an available time ()

Tue May 17 Wed May 18 Thu May 19 Fri May 20 Sat May 21 Sun May 22 Mon May 23 Tue May 24 Wed May 25 Thu May 26 Fri May 27 Sat May 28 Sun May 29 Mon May 30 Tue May 31 Wed Jun 1 Thu Jun 2 Fri Jun 3 Sat Jun 4 Sun Jun 5 Mon Jun 6 Tue Jun 7 Wed Jun 8 Thu Jun 9 Fri Jun 10 Sat Jun 11 Sun Jun 12 Mon Jun 13 Tue Jun 14 Wed Jun 15 Thu Jun 16 Fri Jun 17 Sat Jun 18 Sun Jun 19 Mon Jun 20 Tue Jun 21 Wed Jun 22 Thu Jun 23 Fri Jun 24 Sat Jun 25 Sun Jun 26 Mon Jun 27 Tue Jun 28 Wed Jun 29 Thu Jun 30
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -